Your gateway to the town of Padubidri & neighbouring towns
Home | Location  | Information | Sightseeing | News | News in  pictures|Organisations | Accommodation | Photos |Classifieds   |Obituary |
Home | Location  | Information | Sightseeing | News | News in  pictures|Organisations
Accommodation | Photos
|Classifieds   |Obituary |
Custom Search
Aruna Rai
News & pics by:  Hareesh Kumar Hejmady
Padubidri, Nov.8th, 2017:  Foundation stone laying ceremony was held at Avaral Mattu for the bridge connecting to Ayere Mattu, costing 6 crores 8 lakhs rupees.  The bridge with a length of 150 m and a breadth of 7.5 m is expected to be completed by March 2018.
Foundation stone laid for Avaral Mattu bridge
Presiding over the function Kaup MLA Vinay Kumar Sorake said that he was bound to provide all the facilities quickly to the rural areas at par with developing cities.  "Palimar is already having 9 bridges and according to r the requirement more brdiges will be constructed along with roads and pond development projects," he assured.

Rajya Sabha member Oscar Frenandes laid the foundation stone and  said that the bridge is being built to connect people who used to cross the river by boats, and the work was started with the initiative from local MLA Mr. Sorake.

Mulki-Moodbidri MLA  K. Abhaychandra Jain said that the Karanataka state is in the forefront in the field of development with the initiative from CM Sri Siddaramaiah.  "In order to provide drinking water a vented dam will be constructed at Avaral under "Paschimavahini" plan," he said.

On behalf of Palimar Avaral Mattu residents, Oscar Fernandes, Smt. Blossom Fernandes, Vinay Kumar Sorake and K. Abhaychandra Jain were felicitated during the occasion.

Palimar church Parish priest Rev. Fr. Charles Noronha, chief of Karnataka Minority Development Corporation M.A. Gafoor, Kaup Block Congress president  Naveenchandra J Shetty, Mulki Block Congress president Dhananjay Kotian, Taluk Panchayat member Dinesh Kotian, Mudarangadi Grama Panchayat president David D'Souza, Atikaribettu Grama Panchayat president Sharada Vasanth, Karunakar Nayak, Sudhakar karkera, executive engineer K.C. Satish, assistant engineers Hemanth K.R. and H.V. Ramesh, Vaman Kotian Nadikudru, PDO Satish and others were present.

Palimar Grama Panchayat president Jeethendra Furtado welcomed the guests and Madhukar Nayak proposed vote of thanks.